Results of Senate Republican Leadership Election

Raleigh, N.C. — This afternoon, the N.C. Senate Republican Caucus held its internal leadership election. The winner of each position earned a unanimous vote. Below are the results:

Senate President Pro Tempore (Senate Leader)

Sen. Phil Berger (R-Rockingham)

Senate Majority Leader

Sen. Kathy Harrington (R-Gaston)

(Note: Sen. Harrington is the Senate’s first female majority leader since the position’s inception in 1977.)

Deputy President Pro Tempore

Sen. Ralph Hise (R-Mitchell)

Senate Whips

Sen. Tom McInnis (R-Richmond)

Sen. Jim Perry (R-Lenoir)

Caucus Finance Chair

Sen. Brent Jackson (R-Sampson)

Joint Caucus Leader

Sen. Carl Ford (R-Rowan)

Sen. Berger said, “I appreciate the vote of confidence from my colleagues and look forward to leading the Senate Republican Caucus into this new decade. We have a talented group that will forge ahead on the formula that created a boom decade in North Carolina: low taxes, reasonable regulations, and a strong education system.

Sen. Berger continued, “I also congratulate my personal friend, Sen. Dan Blue, on his reelection to Senate Minority Leader. Despite years of political battles we enjoy a warm personal relationship, and I deeply value that.”



Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Senator Berger Press Shop

Press releases from N.C. Senate Republicans and Senate Leader Phil Berger